ON THE ROAD— Until 2007 there were no speed limits on highways in the Northern Territory outside built-up areas . Motorists were expected to “drive to conditions”. But in 2007 a 130kph speed limit was imposed to bring road rules more into consistency with states. Soon after it as elected, the conservative Country-Liberal Government reinstated open speed limits for a 200km section of the Stuart Highway between Barrow Creek and Alice Springs in January 2014. Later another section of 76km was added.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>